FNSW PL2 18/19 Presentation Night

February 9, 2018, saw the ever-growing Boomerangs tribe gather at the Yowani Country Club to celebrate the season just passed and to recognise the raft of tremendous performances across the FNSW PL2 competition in all age groups.

Some 265 players, parents, families, sponsors and supporters joined in the celebrations on the night. It was a night of fun, of laughter and of course, a celebration of the excellent season just completed. And, of course, there were some awards to hand out.

A number of raffles held, with some significant prizes involved – all generously donated by Boomerangs sponsors. There were shirt auctions that raised some valuable funds for the club and there were special guests including former Boomerangs players and Australian Futsalroo representatives, Angelo Konstantinou and Daniel Fulton. The Chair and CEO of Capital Football were also in attendance.

Each team – from the development squads to the open age women and men – were awarded two trophies, a Coaches Award and a Player’s Player award, voted for by their team mates. In addition, a range of whole-of-club awards were awarded to those who achieved above and beyond for season 18/19.

Photos of the night can be found at the Boomerangs FS photo site and videos at BoomersTV.

Congratulations to the following award winners.

Team Awards
9 Boys

Player’s Player: Jacob Pratezina
Coaches Award: Tommy Celebija
10 Boys
Player’s Player: Michael Pratezina
Coaches Award: Michael Lo Pilato
11 Boys
Player’s Player: Josh Smith (GK)
Coaches Award: Josh Smith (GK)
11/12 Girls
Player’s Player: Tehya Aspland
Coaches Award: Lauren Watt
12 Boys
Player’s Player: Liam Cook (GK)
Coaches Award: Wil McCloskey
13 Girls
Player’s Player: Sofia Palywoda
Coaches Award: Emma Alfonso (GK)
14 Boys
Player’s Player: Thomas Barbatano
Coaches Award: Nick Pratezina & Josh Hedditch (shared)
15 Girls
Player’s Player: Jade Brown
Coaches Award: Tayla Hampson
16 Boys
Player’s Player: Luca Macor
Coaches Award: Murphy Shaw
18 Women
Player’s Player: Sally James (GK)
Coaches Award: Steph Hedditch
Youth Men
Player’s Player: Jayde James-Ward
Coaches Award: Nic Felizzi
Open Women
Player’s Player: Jess Giovinazzo (GK)
Coaches Award: Rachael Corbett
Open Men
Player’s Player: Ashley Collins
Coaches Award: Nick Rathjen

Club Awards
Rachel Lo Pilato Memorial Award – Development Player of the Season
Michael Lo Pilato
Team of the Year 

10 Boys
Male Goalkeeper of the Year 

Callum Cook
Female Goalkeeper of the Year 

Jess Giovinazzo
MVP Male Player of the Year 

Murphy Shaw (16/19/men)
MVP Female Player of the Year 

Ellen Brown (18 women/women)
Volunteer of the Year 

Damian McFarlane
Coach of the Year 

Mark Dowling (16 boys/youth men)

Additionally, players that received FNSW competition-wide awards were also recognised. These were:

18 Women Goalkeeper of the Year: Sally James
19 Men Golden Boot (joint): Nic Felizzi

Congratulations to all these players for the recognition they received for the season just passed. And congratulations to all the other Boomerangs players from the 9 boys through to the seniors for their contribution to a successful season.

Photos of the night can be found at the Boomerangs FS photo site.