2012 Men

The 2012 F-League season promised to be bigger and better than season one with the inclusion of two new Victorian sides taking the total number to eight. The larger eight team competition included Sydney’s Dural Warriors, Parramatta Blues and East Coast Heat FC along with a strong Victorian contingent which included Jaguars FS, St Albans Strikers, Vic Vipers and Melbourne Heart. The sole ACT representative remained Boomerangs FS.

F-League matches in 2012 were again played in a ‘series’ format over a weekend, all eight clubs playing three games over the two days, ensuring that clubs played each other twice in the competition. The five series match days were played in Sydney (twice), Victoria (twice) and in the ACT (once). The ACT weekend series was played at the AIS.

Despite the extra pressure of more games and increased travel, the team set out in May for Series 1 in Melbourne. Although leaving with a strong squad, injuries proved an issue with the team winning one and losing two in what was a weekend of “what ifs”. Series 2 in Sydney provided an opportunity to play closer to home and the boys showed what they were capable of with a 100% return from their three outings to lift the club into third position on the competition table.

The home leg in Canberra (Series 3) provided a great opportunity to showcase national futsal talent to the home fans. The boys again took three from three in front of a hugely excitable and noisy crowd at the AIS. This result left the Boomerangs in second place, just four points behind eventual winners Dural.

The Melbourne trip (Series 4) again proved an issue for the team as they slumped to again lose two from three games; all but ending the fight for the Championship.

Sydney for Series 5 was an opportunity to play those players who hadn’t had much court time over the season and as such the gallant team lost two from two but stood up admirably ending the season in fourth place (8 wins/6 losses), just two points behind third place Vic Vipers.











The squad for the 2012 season included:

Ashley Collins (GK), Callum Smith, Daniel Fulton, Sam Smith, Mark Symington, Thomas Zeitlhofer, Jonathan Ciminelli, Ryan Keir, Chris Lee, Trent Flannigan, Jason O’Dwyer, Zac Sorenson (GK), George Cattanach, Denny Dutra, Jake Wilsener, Daniel Fogarty, Nick Rathjen, Angelo Konstantinou (GK), Kristian Collins, Glenn Smith, Sean O’Neill, Daniel Giovinazzo, Nathan Swientek, GianMarco Senatore, Keiran Stroh (GK)

(Season 2012 did not feature a finals’ series)

Ladder After Round 14

1 Dural Warriors 14 12 1 1 108 33 75 37
2 East Coast Heat FC 14 9 3 2 66 36 30 29
3 Vic Vipers Futsal Club 14 8 4 2 64 42 22 26
4 Boomerangs FS 14 8 6 0 64 52 12 24
5 Parramatta Blues 14 6 8 0 54 72 -18 18
6 St Albans Strikers FC 14 3 9 2 42 97 -55 11
7 Melbourne Heart 14 3 10 1 42 58 -16 10
8 Jaguars Futbol Sala Club 14 3 11 0 41 91 -50 9



Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published.